seeking the same

lana del rey’s “Video games”

you and me, we both seek the same
the light you see in me
is the light that lays in you

am i a mother of your child
or a mother to the child in you

are you a lost teenager that needs a light
or a grown man that lost a fight

did you grow fond of me because you need me
or you need me because you grew fond of me

besides, why me
why not her
why not the one sitting next to her

was it luck – to meet you then there

can’t you see my bare branches
can’t you see me
i am not your hero
what makes you think i can remove your eclipse
what makes you think i caused it

you consider me your sun
but i am merely a moon
reflecting the glow of your soul

you and me, we both seek the same
you seek me
but so do i

 

Daily prompt: eclipse

Leave a Reply

